Rebirth Logo

United Republic Of Tanzania

Tanzania Flag

Capital city: Dar es Salaam, largest city (main seaport and International airport).

Area: 945087 square km

National day: 26 April (Union day)

Independence: 9 December 1961 (Tanganyika), 9 December 1963 (Zanzibar).


Leader: Benjamin Mkapa, born 1938. President as at the year 1995.

Language: Swahili, and English (both official)

Currency: Tanzanian shillings (Tsh)

Map Of Africa